Where it began…

I have, in the past year or so, rediscovered my love of sewing. I have sewn for much of my life. It all started when I was about 12-years-old. My mother bought me a 50-year-old Singer sewing machine and started teaching me to sew. The fanciest stitch on that machine was a backstitch, but it did the trick. What I remember now is how difficult it was to control the speed on that machine; rather than a full foot pedal, it had a button. When I sewed in bare feet, I could control it with my big toe, which made for a sore toe. Is there carpal tunnel syndrome for toes?!? I made a few projects and carted that machine to university, where I took two costume classes as part of my theatre degree. I also sewed several vests for a student production of A Chorus Line. I then completed a two year diploma in costume studies, after which I worked as a dresser for a dinner theatre company. From there, I went to Japan to teach English and abandoned my Singer and sewing until January of 2012. By then, my Singer was long gone, and I had signed up for a quilting class, without having my own machine. I ended up with a Janome 6500 and a reignited passion for creative sewing. I made 10 quilts in 2012 and turned to garmentry in 2013. Now, I am trying to tame my pattern and fabric stashes! Wish me luck…

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.

