Stateside shopping and a new toy

I took a trip last week to Ohio, stopping in Columbus and Cleveland. What treasures awaited me there! I went to three fabulous fabric shops and returned with many treasures (not even counting the three orders waiting to be picked up in Buffalo)! Fabric Shack in Waynesville got me excited about new quilts and I picked up a pattern, a book and several fabrics to get me started.

Image

In Columbus, Sew to Speak netted me two patterns, two lengths of cotton voile and a fun print of houses that has to be used for something.Image

Murray Hill Bolt & Spool in Cleveland gave me three Deer and Doe patterns and two lengths of Liberty of London cotton lawn.Image

Now I have to decide what to do with it all! I’ve already completed The Staple Dress and have to decide what to do next.

I also got myself a new toy.Image

I spent two hours on Friday learning how to thread it correctly. It does not take long to thread it, but one must be very precise about where the thread tails go, or stitching is terrible! This is a great serger, industrial quality, and much less fussy than the domestic ones. I knew I wanted good stitch quality and the least amount of messing about. I am still getting used to the speed (no speed control here, unlike my sewing machine), but it is all going well so far.

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.

