It’s beginning to look a lot like Coco!

I have been working on several projects: Oh my stars! and Geography Boys are quilts that are complete and ready for Christmas. Here is a sneak peek at Geography Boys:

Montreal block. Can you see a Canadian flag? (I am hearing my nephew's voice saying this!)

Montreal block. Can you see a Canadian flag? (I am hearing my nephew’s voice saying this!)

This quilt is so cute! There are fourteen other blocks that are this cute! You may notice the complementary colours used; this was a theme throughout the quilt, and something that I will post about once the gift has been given.

I have also been making progress on the Style Arc Coco. I finally cut the lining on Sunday and, following along with Lorna Knight’s class, I have been putting it together. It finally looks like something other than piles of fabric and trim!

Not here, obviously. I just wanted to show some of the hand stitching involved, although my stitches are more visible below.

Not here, obviously. I just wanted to show some of the hand stitching involved, although my stitches are more visible below.

I handstitched strips of silk organza to stabilize the neck edges.

I handstitched strips of silk organza to stabilize the neck edges.

I then had to prepare the front and back for quilting. The lining is quilted to the jacket fabric in the Chanel couture jacket. To do this, it has to be flat. I came across many recommendations to quilt every piece, but the Coco pattern had 35 pieces! Lorna Knight constructs the fronts and the back, jacket and lining, and then quilts the larger pieces. I liked her method for this particular jacket, so I did the same. (On a jacket with fewer and larger pieces, I may try quilting each one.)

Coco back, ready for quilting.

Coco back, ready for quilting.

 

Fronts ready for quilting.

Fronts ready for quilting.

I spaced my quilting lines approximately 2 inches apart. Some were a little closer together (1.5 inches), in order to leave room to join the side and shoulder seams. Some were positively wonky because my fabric does not have dominant lines to follow and I did no marking! Still, it came out quite well.

Quilted front.

Quilted front.

 

Quilted back.

Quilted back. You can see that the spacing is wonky here!

My goal was to get the jacket to a point that was portable. I leave tomorrow to visit family for Christmas. Knowing that a lot of hand sewing follows the basic construction of the jacket, I wanted to be able to work on it without a machine. So, I put a major push on the last few evenings to get the jacket to that stage. I am now ready to fell stitch for several hours to finish attaching the lining. I may even add trim! (I am saving the nightmares that are sleeves and pockets for later, when there are no witnesses…)

And, it looks like a jacket. Obviously it will not be worn with the dress that still has no hem.

And, it looks like a jacket. Obviously it will not be worn with the dress that (still!) has no hem.

Merry Christmas! I hope you have a wonderful holiday season.

Chera

 

 

Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

