Freedom!

I finished my two classes at Seneca this week. I had many assignments and three garment projects to complete. I thoroughly enjoyed the classes (Garment Construction I and Patternmaking I), but I am excited to have my Tuesday and Wednesday evenings (and my week-ends, which I spent doing homework!) to myself and my projects again.

I’m a bit spoiled for choice of what to attack next. I worked on the toile of Butterick 6026 today, and I am ready to cut into my linen.

Butterick 6026 and Sage linen polka dot jacquard. A match made in my apartment.

Butterick 6026 and Sage linen polka dot jacquard. A match made in my apartment.

Hmmm… Maybe green on green was not the best way to photograph this. I plan to make the sleeved view (View B) of this blouse. I am not sure that green is one of my colours, but this sage does not frighten me the way that some of the brighter greens do. If I am honest, however, I tend not to choose green, red or yellow for garments. These colours make me anxious for some reason.

This is the version I plan to make. I love the way the pin tucks are radiating at neck and waist.

This is the view I plan to make. I love the way the pin tucks are radiating at neck and waist.

The pin tucks are what makes this blouse so interesting and appealing to me. They are a pain to sew, but the effect is worth the effort. There are also three pin tucks radiating from the sleeve hem (difficult to see in the technical drawing). I am about to try my hand at shirt-making! There are buttons, buttonholes and a collar to contend with on this one. Wish me luck!

One thought on “Freedom!

  1. Good luck. I’m interested to see how you find this pattern – I have it – and honestly it looks harder than the “easy” it has been rated.

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.

