Minis for Mum

I am in a bit of a quilting moment. Garment sewing is on the back burner, although I did attend a class for five weeks to get me through a jacket project (still in progress, but close to the end!). Mum’s birthday is at the end of March, so I decided to make her another quilt. She loves Mini Coopers, so I was on the hunt for fabric with cars resembling Minis. I was unsuccessful with the commercial lines available, but tracked down a cute print at Spoonflower.

My fabric selections for Minis for Mum. The Minis print, Netorious in Roadster by Cotton and Steel (the nefarious orange), Doe Weave in white and Architextures Crosshatch in blue, both by Carolyn Friedlander.

My fabric selections for Minis for Mum. The Minis print from Spoonflower, Netorious in Roadster by Cotton and Steel (the nefarious orange), Doe Weave in white and Architextures Crosshatch in blue, both by Carolyn Friedlander.

The orange fabric was the cause of much blue language! It is considered a basic, but in this particular pattern (Mod Pod by Carolina Patchworks), its inherent directionality quickly became apparent as I was piecing the blocks.

This orange was a nightmare. It does not seem directional, but it is! There is a dominant line that has to run consistently.

This orange was a nightmare. It does not seem directional, but it is! There is a dominant line that has to run consistently through the block.

My first cutting attempt, with no attention to the directionality of the fabric.

My first cutting attempt, with no attention to the directionality of the fabric. What a mess!

The many strips I could not use.

The many strips I could not use. And I hate scraps!

Needless to say, further yardage was purchased to correct my cutting errors, just before closing on a Sunday afternoon at the only quilt shop in the GTA open on Sundays. I also used it as the binding, but wisely cut it on the bias so that the dominant line did not look weird. Still, I think it turned out well.

Minis for Mum, complete!

Minis for Mum, complete!

A closer view.

A closer view.

If one takes a ruler to it, the little TVs do not match perfectly (I know because I did just that!), but the effect is there. I needed a pattern that would showcase the Minis, and this one fit that goal. It was a simple pattern to piece, made more challenging by disagreeable fabric, but I like it.

It was also the first time that I designed a backing!

Backing fabrics: Minis, Best. Day.Ever! Trellis Socialite in stream and Hello Tokyo Sugoi tiles in adventure (the orange that would have worked on the top!).

Backing fabrics: Minis, Best. Day.Ever! Trellis Socialite in stream and Hello Tokyo Sugoi tiles in adventure.

This is the first time that I have intentionally designed a quilt backing. It was mainly to use up as much of the mini fabric as I could. I don't do scraps.

This is the first time that I have intentionally designed a quilt backing. It was mainly to use up as much of the Mini fabric as I could. I don’t do scraps!

The Minis are huge, 18″ squares, bordered by an orange that would have posed no problems on the quilt top (but for the colour!). I then cut a narrow panel for the left side of the squares, and a wider one for the right. I used up almost all of the Mini fabric, although Mum got a few scraps. I have since found a few more, so I’ll send them on as well. I really don’t do scraps!

2 thoughts on “Minis for Mum

  1. HI Chera,,,What a great job on the quilt,,love the orange,,,,,,,Happy Quilting,,I just finished a queen size for one of our granddaughters

    • Thanks, Joan! I have done one bed size quilt, and it was a chore quilting it! I commend you for tackling a queen size project! I’m sticking to baby/throw quilts for now, as I continue to develop my quilting skills.

Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

