“If I were that plant’s mother, I would ground it!”

I went on a field trip today with my grade 2 class. This is the quote of the day (if not the year!). We went to an environmental education centre run by the school board, which is fantastic. The morning was spent doing a mapping activity, which served to make me realize that I would not like to be lost in the woods with a seven-year-old. In the afternoon, we used nets in the creek to observe larvae, crayfish, salmon and whatever other creatures we managed to capture. Finally, we went on a short hike through the forest, where the guide showed us the dog-strangling vine, an invasive plant species choking many of the trees in the forest.

Dog Strangling Vine (Vincetoxicum rossicum) photo by Andrea Hicks, Ontario Federation of Anglers and Hunters (OFAH)

Dog Strangling Vine (Vincetoxicum rossicum) photo by Andrea Hicks, Ontario Federation of Anglers and Hunters (OFAH)

After the explanation of the effect of this plant on the forest, one of my students, scandalized, exclaimed, “Bad, bad plant! If I were that plant’s mother, I would ground it!”

This is what makes this time of year so bittersweet. As much as I look forward to a restful summer break, I will miss these little guys and gals, especially when they come up with these hilarious comments on the world they inhabit.

Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

