Am I smart enough for a smart phone?

This came into my possession on Friday.

This came into my possession on Friday.

I have long wondered whether or not I am smart enough for a smart phone. After much deliberation, I finally took the plunge. I tend to wait out trends to see if they stick. This one has stuck! After a ridiculous amount of research (my contract expired last summer!), I finally took the plunge. Being a bit of a Luddite, I defer to my technologically brilliant brother on these things, but I have managed to do some exceedingly clever (or exceedingly simple, since it is Apple) things myself. I added my favourite cities with trams (streetcars) to the world clock and weather apps. My pleasures in life are simple, I will admit, but have you seen the cool trams in Strasbourg?!?

How cool is this tram? I totally rode several of these!

How cool is this tram? I totally rode several of these!

I digress. This is supposed to be about sewing, not trams, much as I adore them as a mode of transportation. But, if you like trams as much as I do, Strasbourg’s are the coolest! The ring route in Vienna is great, and Hiroshima also has trams!  I live in Toronto, where we will soon have cool streetcars, if Bombardier ever gets them made. Melbourne is on my clock because of their trams, although I have never been fortunate enough to embark on one. Enough about trams!

I have been getting into designing quilt backings, although, after my most recent, I am going to make my life easier on the next one. I have spent 18 hours putting together a backing that, ultimately, I don’t like very much.

Backing for Puddle Jumping.

Backing for Puddle Jumping.

It is scrappy (not my thing) and it took forever to make! I did not order enough of the Lotus floral to make it easier , and came up with the idea to repeat the blocks from the front on the back. The problem was that I could not make the blocks as co-ordinated as I would have liked.

I realized that I was short on floral fabric, so used up the rest of the fat quarters. My first foray into scrappy quilting. Not my preference, I'm afraid.

I realized that I was short on floral fabric, so used up the rest of the fat quarters. My first foray into scrappy quilting. Not my preference, I’m afraid.

There is one block that I like.

I like this block because it is not scrappy!

I like this block because it is not scrappy!

It seems like a bit of a mess to me, but needs must. My other quilt backing design went much more smoothly and turned out well.

This is the backing of a quilt that I am working on. Excuse the wrinkles!

This is the backing of a quilt that I am working on. Excuse the wrinkles!

This is a gift, so I cannot give many more details. I will start quilting it tomorrow, as I just finished the Puddle Jumping quilt back today.

Close up of the melting clocks. I've used this fabric before and I love it!

Close up of the melting clocks. I’ve used this fabric before and I love it!

Needless to say, time is an important theme in this quilt. I love this Katarina Roccella fabric. I used it in another quilt, so you may recognize it. It is a fabric that I feel needs to be left large, as it were. It is so exquisite that it would be a shame to cut it up to put into blocks, unless they were large blocks that would showcase the print. I have to add that the hand on these Art Gallery fabrics is lovely (the grey print is also AGF). It is so soft and light, it could be a garment. A weird garment, but a beautifully draping garment.

Oh, I have to give a hint of the quilt!

Relatively dimensioanl

Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

