Whatever happened to…

Me? September 29th and I am sick. I cannot keep myself in tissues with this runny nose of mine! Sometimes I think I must be playing that lava floor game because the box of tissues is in the other room and I will not go and bring it to where I am. Apparently tissues are for when I am prone.

No, the title of this post refers to things I have made. I often feel as if I have spent a lot of time in these endeavours, but I have little to wear. I will admit that my sewing is more about process than product. I delight in trying new things: patterns, techniques and fabrics. I don’t always love the product at the end, though, and I started to think about which products have hung around and why.

I am fortunate enough to live next door to one of those clothing donation boxes, so some of my garments have gone on to other wearers. I fear that more have moved on than have stayed on my hangers and in my drawers! As for the quilts, I really only make them to give away. I have held onto my first quilt, although I sometimes wonder why.

Libellules: sitting in a big plastic box near my printer.

Libellules: sitting in a big plastic box near my printer.

The garments were things that I meant to keep and wear. This has not happened with many of them. It has been a process of learning what works with my body, being displeased with the outcome due to technique, fabric choices and simply being more satisfied with how I worked through a project than with the product at its end. Despite the expense of effort, time and money, I am not unhappy about these discarded projects. I see it rather as a part of the process. And, for once, the learning I have undertaken is quite selfish, in that I am making garments for myself. If it doesn’t always work out as I would wish, it’s not the end of the world.

On to the rejects!

Sewaholic Pendrell View A : As someone with broad shoulders, those pleats were never going to look good. Also, I used a horrible polyester that I hated to wear. Worn once, donated.

Sewaholic Pendrell View A 

As someone with broad shoulders, those pleats were never going to look anything other than ridiculous. Also, I used a horrible polyester that I hated to wear. Worn once, donated.

Simplicity 2177: The dress that never got hemmed.

Simplicity 2177: The dress that never got hemmed.

This dress hung on my dress form for more than a year because I loved the linen so much. I would look at it, wishing that I had made something else. The dress has a waist seam, with pleats, which looked terrible on me. I finally disassembled the dress and saved the fabric from the skirt, although I have yet to do anything with it.

April Rhodes: The Staple dress

April Rhodes: The Staple dress

Although there is no waist seam, the shirred waist did not work for me. I am not a fan of cut-on sleeves either. This was a weird make for me that I wore once on a windy summer day, having to hold the sides against me while I walked around the corner to the bank. Donated.

Sewaholic Cambie

Sewaholic Cambie

Waist seam + gathered skirt = bad idea on me! Donated.

Vogue 8667 View A

Vogue 8667 View A

I really loved this linen. I really loved the silk/cotton lining. I liked the shaping of the princess seams through the bodice. I put the zipper in backwards (twice!), but I could fix it, and did. I put the skirt pleats in backwards, but I could live with that.  Two things that I couldn’t live with: the waist seam and, in spite of the fact that I do cultivate my pallor by wearing big hats and a lot SPF 60 sunscreen in the summer, the fabric here read as beige (it is actually very tiny brown and beige houndstooth check) and washed me out completely. Donated.

Sewaholic Renfrew

Sewaholic Renfrew

The Renfrew is well-loved and for good reason. I like the dramatic cowl option. The cuffs and hem band work with certain fabrics, including this one. The fabric, however, did not work for me. It was a poly ITY and so horrible to wear, I donated the top.

Angela Wolf 1123: The Ruched T

Angela Wolf 1123: The Ruched T

Another one that I loved in theory but not in fabric. Horrible, horrible poly ITY that made me feel as if I was wearing plastic wrap. Pattern is great, though.

Burda 7185

Burda 7185

I like this skirt. I made the shorter length for a class project at Seneca and found it too short. So, I tried the mid-length version and found that it was too long. I feel like Goldilocks! I ended up donating it.

Another ruched T

Another ruched T

This fabric was seriously awful to work with. The stripes were a nightmare to match, and the fabric had to be lined and was still scratchy against my skin. Donated.

Jalie 2794

Jalie 2794

I love this fabric! The top turned out well. I wore it to work once and nearly melted. It still sits in my drawer because I love the fabric, but it is another horrible poly ITY that I cannot wear.

Burda 8155 aka the 42,5 hour skirt

Burda 8155 aka the 42,5 hour skirt

I was really proud of my work on this one. The vent was done beautifully and I loved the lining. I lost a mark (it was a Seneca class project) because my front darts were different lengths (oops!). It did not fit with my life, however, so it went in the donation box.

Jalie 3022 Back.

Jalie 3022 Back.

Jalie 2795

Jalie 2795

The Jalie pant and jacket were a also Seneca class project. I did not check for fit, as I was short on time. These types of garments are not really my thing anyway. The lengths on both garments were ridiculous on me, non-tall as I am. I would like to try both again and even have fabric to do so, but these ones were donated.

Style Arc Kate

Style Arc Kate

Love this dress. Love the look of the fabric. There was not enough fabric, however, and it ended up way too short. And it is a poly ITY. This dress presently hangs on my dress form as I love the look of it.

Kate take two.

Kate take two.

So, I tried again and got the length right. The fabric was very soft and it felt like I was wearing pyjamas. Problem? It looked like I was wearing pyjamas, too. Donated.

Sew Over It: The Ultimate Wrap Dress

Sew Over It: The Ultimate Wrap Dress

Last wrap dress, I promise! The fabric was wild and a horrible ITY. This was my test garment to check fit. It was short and the neck was too low. I made some alterations on the pattern, but have yet to work up another version. Donated.

Tilly and the Buttons: Mathilde back

Tilly and the Buttons: Mathilde back

I love back closures. I hate this itchy, cotton Ikat fabric. Donated.

Vogue 8772 C: What was I thinking? This fabric is evil!

Vogue 8772 C: What was I thinking? This fabric is evil!

Vogue 8772B

Vogue 8772B

Vogue 8772 is a favourite of mine for blouses. It has basic versions and then it has the fantastic pussy bow iteration. The first photo shows one of the basics in a cotton gauze that was an absolute horror to work with. I believe it was trashed as I would not wish on anyone the immense displeasure of wearing such a fabric. The pussy bow version turned out well. I made a few mistakes in attaching the bow, but was pleased with the result. Until I put it on. The fabric, a silk/cotton, felt lovely but was way too wild for me. I donated that one, but I hope to make it in a more suitable (for me) fabric.

So, what have I kept? Dresses without waist seams. Knit garments made of rayon (viscose)/lycra or cotton/lycra. (Poly ITY fabrics have been relegated to fitting garments.) Garments that are more neutral in colour and pattern. I have also kept most of the patterns used here, although I cull my patterns regularly to let go of the ones that I know will not work for me. I have learned to be more selective in my choices as I discover what I want and need from my clothing. I could probably go on, but I need to cross my lava floor to get to where the tissues are!

Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

